IPL 2022  –  TODAY’S SCHEDULE (05.04.2022)

Match No.DateMatch DetailsVenueTime
14April 2022, 06KKR vs MIMaharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune7:30 PM


Sl. No.TeamMWLPtsNRR
1RR3214+ 1.218
2KKR3214+ 0.843
3GT2204+ 0.495
4PBKS3214+ 0.238
5LSG3214+ 0.193
6RCB3214+ 0.159
7DC2112+ 0.065
8MI2020– 1.029
9CSK3030– 1.251
10SRH2020– 1.825

IPL 2022: RR vs RCB | Dinesh Karthik and Shahbaz pull off a heist against the Royals

Chasing the target of Royals’ 169 for three, Royal Challengers Bangalore was staring at defeat after losing the top five wickets in the space of 32 runs. What followed was a Karthik-inspired 67-run stand off 32 balls with left-handed Shahbaz Ahmed and turned the match on its head.

Karthik’s unbeaten 23-ball 44 and Shahbaz’s 26-ball 45 set up Royal Challengers’ second straight win and Royals’ first loss in three games. Between them, these batters struck four sixes and 11 fours to leave Royals bleeding.

Coming in at 87 for five, after Navdeep Saini took a stunning catch to send back Sherfane Rutherford, Karthik chose Ravichandran Ashwin for special treatment, hitting him for three fours and a six in a 21-run over and never looked back.


Rajasthan Royals Innings: Jos Buttler not out 70 Yashasvi Jaiswal b Willey 4 Devdutt Padikkal c Kohli b Harshal Patel 37 Sanju Samson c and b W Hasaranga 8 Shimron Hetmyer not out 42 Extras: (LB-3, W-4, NB-1) 8

Total: (For three wickets in 20 overs) 169

Fall of wickets: 1-6, 2-76, 3-86.

Royal Challengers Bangalore bowling: Mohammed Siraj 4-0-43-0, David Willey 4-0-29-1, Akash Deep 4-0-44-0, Wanindu Hasaranga 4-0-32-1, Harshal Patel 4-0-18-1.

ROYAL CHALLENGERSFaf du Plessis c Boult b Chahal 29 (20b, 5×4), Anuj Rawat c Samson b Saini 26 (25b, 4×4), Virat Kohli run out 5 (6b), David Willey b Chahal 0 (2b), Sherfane Rutherford c Saini b Boult 5 (10b), Shahbaz Ahmed b Boult 45 (26b, 4×4, 3×6), Dinesh Karthik (not out) 44 (23b, 7×4, 1×6), Harshal Patel (not out) 9 (4b, 1×6); Extras (lb-3, nb-1, w-6): 10; Total (for six wkts. in 19.1 overs): 173.

FALL OF WICKETS 1-55 (du Plessis, 6.6), 2-61 (Rawat, 7.6), 3-62 (Kohli, 8.4), 4-62 (Willey, 8.5), 5-87 (Rutherford, 12.3), 6-154 (Shahbaz, 17.5).

ROYALS BOWLING Boult 4-0-34-2, Prasidh 4-0-40-0, R. Ashwin 4-0-39-0, Chahal 4-0-15-2, Saini 3-0-36-1, Jaiswal 0.1-0-6-0.

Toss: RCB; MoM: Karthik.

RCB won by four wickets with five balls to spare.

Leave a Comment